New Materials Ideas Wanted for INNOspace Masters Competition

New Materials Ideas Wanted for INNOspace Masters Competition

The great benefit of novel materials is their potential to create new applications and to stimulate innovation due to technology transfer capabilities. The originating sector in which the new material was developed does not solely represent its stomping ground. Its novel advantages have great potential for different areas as well. One very predestined sector is space which offers countless application fields. And on top of that, space provides unique testing environments in micro-gravity.

Space Powers New Materials and Vice Versa

Within the European space ecosystem, the New Space Economy is the driver for contemporary technologies processes and new materials. This technology driver is used to tackle global challenges. For space, new materials and their countless applications represent a sparring partner to improve Europe’s competitiveness and the sustainability of our society.

Spin-in as well as spin-off ideas – meaning technology transfer from a non-space sector into space and vice versa – profit from the best of both worlds and thus have great potential for outstanding business advantages. The INNOspace Masters competition is the perfect platform to receive research grants and to win prizes, build awareness and boost business ideas related to space. According to the motto “Space Moves!”, the competition is looking for new ideas and solutions for the next space generation.

A good example of how new materials and space are interconnected is the project ALISE.

Project ALISE

ALISE is a national collaboration which is focused on the development of a new generation of laser modules. Furthermore, the project aims to gain a better understanding of our atmosphere by delivering precise and comprehensive data. In cooperation with the Leibniz Institute of Atmospheric Physics, the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology is developing a compact Lidar (light detection and ranging) device that will carry out resonance measurements of potassium and iron atoms in the atmosphere using an alexandrite laser.

Lidar applications are of high interest for numerous remote sensing application fields, ranging from agriculture to autonomous mobility and oceanography. In the future, the system by ALISE is to be adapted for satellite missions to collect datasets all over the world.

Major Advantages

This enables high-resolution measurement of temperature and wind velocity from the ground to an altitude of 120 kilometres for the first time. Another new feature is measuring in daylight, which promises numerous groundbreaking insights. The first atmospheric measurements with the system could already be demonstrated.

Do you want to win a prize for your own space business idea? Do you like the idea of developing pioneering solutions just like ALISE? Become part of this progressive community and discover space technology for business innovation and vice versa!

Make it happen and SUBMIT YOUR IDEA for the INNOspace Masters by 16 February 2018 and boost innovative business concepts benefitting Earth and space.

About the INNOspace Masters ideas competition
The INNOspace Masters competition is being organised by the Space Administration of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) as an embedded component of the INNOspace® initiative. AZO Anwendungszentrum GmbH Oberpfaffenhofen, an international networking and branding company for the European space programmes, has been implementing the competition since 2015 on behalf of DLR. Partners of the competition are Airbus, OHB and the ESA Business Incubation Centres (BICs) Bavaria and Darmstadt.

Innovative Ideen rund um das Thema „neue Materialien“ für den INNOspace Masters gesucht!

Die Raumfahrt treibt innovative Ideen maßgeblich voran
Im Ökosystem der europäischen Raumfahrt ist die „New Space Economy“ der Impulsgeber für moderne Technologien, Prozesse und innovative Materialien. Dieser technologische Impuls hilft, globale Herausforderungen zu bewältigen. In der Raumfahrt sind innovative Materialien und ihre vielen, daraus resultierenden Anwendungen ein wichtiger Konterpart zur Verbesserung der europäischen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sowie für die Nachhaltigkeit unserer Gesellschaft.

Spin-in- sowie Spin-off-Ideen – also der Technologietransfer aus einem fremden Bereich in die Raumfahrt und umgekehrt – profitieren von den Vorteilen beider Welten und bieten daher ein immenses Potenzial für großartige Geschäftserfolge. Der Wettbewerb INNOspace Masters ist die perfekte Plattform, um Förderungen zu erhalten, wertvolle Preise zu gewinnen, öffentlich wahrgenommen zu werden und Geschäftsideen im Zusammenhang mit der Raumfahrt zu protegieren. Denn mit dem Motto „Space Moves!“ suchen die Veranstalter nach neuen Ideen und Lösungen für die nächste Raumfahrtgeneration.

Ein gutes Beispiel, wie innovative Materialien und die Raumfahrt miteinander verbunden sind, ist das Projekt ALISE.

ALISE-Projekt

ALISE ist ein nationales Entwicklungsprojekt für eine neue Generation von Lasermodulen. Gemeinsam mit dem Leibniz-Institut für Atmosphärenphysik entwickelt das Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik einen kompakten Lidar (engl. Abkürzung für Light Detection and Ranging), der mit Hilfe eines Alexandrit-Lasers Resonanzmessungen von Kalium- und Eisenatomen in der Atmosphäre durchführt. So liefert ALISE zudem präzise und umfassende Daten, um unsere Atmosphäre besser zu verstehen. Zukünftig soll ALISE auch weltweit Datensätze bei Satellitenmissionen erfassen.

Wesentliche Vorteile

Dank ALISE sind erstmals hochauflösende Messungen von Temperatur und Windgeschwindigkeiten vom Boden aus bis zu einer Höhe von 120 Kilometern möglich. Die ersten atmosphärischen Messungen mit dem System werden bereits durchgeführt. Eine Weltneuheit ist es aber, dass Messungen bei Tageslicht vorgenommen werden können, was viele bahnbrechende Erkenntnisse mit sich bringen wird.

Finden Sie zukunftsorientierte Systeme wie ALISE hoch interessant und möchten Sie ähnliche innovative Lösungen entwickeln? Dann werden Sie Teil dieser fortschrittlichen Gemeinschaft und entdecken Sie Raumfahrttechnologie als Ihre Geschäftsinnovation! Gewinnen auch Sie wertvolle Preise für Ihre Idee im Bereich der Raumfahrt.

Fördern Sie das Gemeinschaftswohl auf der Erde und in der Rumfahrt. Senden Sie jetzt Ihre Idee für den INNOspace Masters – oder bis spätestens 16. Februar 2018.

Über den Ideenwettbewerb INNOspace Masters
Der Wettbewerb INNOspace Masters wird vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) organisiert und ist ein Bestandteil der INNOspace® Initiative. Das AZO Anwendungszentrum GmbH Oberpfaffenhofen, ein internationales Networking- und Branding-Unternehmen für die europäischen Raumfahrtprogramme, führt den Wettbewerb seit 2015 im Auftrag des DLR durch. Partner des Wettbewerbs sind Airbus, OHB und die Business Incubation Centres (BICs) Bavaria und Darmstadt der ESA.