Space-Style Boost for Entrepreneurs powered by ESA Business Incubation Centres Bavaria and Darmstadt

Space-Style Boost for Entrepreneurs powered by ESA Business Incubation Centres Bavaria and Darmstadt

New ideas, technologies, products and services are essential for the progress of humankind. Space and its groundbreaking developments have always been on the forefront of advancing our lives on Earth and in space. One major reason why space related technology, products and services make life better on Earth is technology transfer. At the same time, space profits from new technologies originating from non-space sectors.

The following two prime examples show how innovative startups are able to revolutionise industry status quos and how smart use of space technology and data enables tremendous success. They also reveal how the European Space Agency (ESA) Business Incubation Centres (BICs) Bavaria and Darmstadt deliver powerful boost for entrepreneurs.

UAS Startup MAVinci Aquired by Intel

The ESA BIC Darmstadt startup MAVinci is a manufacturer and developer of unmanned aerial drones and software systems. They specialise in developing and offering airborne documentation and surveying solutions, like, for example, in the field of civil survey and mapping-UAS as well as exterior intrusion detection. This is achieved by using a completely automatic small aircraft with integrated camera and software for planning, control, surveillance, and further processing. MAVinci GmbH, meanwhile staffed with 20, is headquartered in St. Leon-Rot in Baden-Wuerttemberg, between Heidelberg and Stuttgart. In November 2016 Intel acquired the successful company from the ESA incubator.

MAVinci developed a complete unmanned aircraft system, which today’s version is the Intel Sirius™ Pro UAS, to carry out surveying and mapping projects. This is a fully automatable light aircraft with a built-in camera and software for planning, management, control and processing.

Building Radar – Discovering Building Projects 2-3 Years in Advance

Building Radar provides a worldwide, satellite-based online search engine for new construction projects. This innovative solution opens new doors for the use of precision satellite imagery worldwide. The startup was incubated at ESA BIC Bavaria for two years. In that time period, Building Radar was awarded the Overall Winner of the Copernicus Masters 2015 competition and won the Space App Camp Barcelona 2016, both initiatives organised by AZO Anwendungszentrum GmbH Oberpfaffenhofen.

The startup has been supported by ESA BIC Bavaria’s technical partner – the German Aerospace Center (DLR) – in the fields of image processing, data sources, image classification and urban monitoring. Paul Indinger, Managing Director of Building Radar, describes the cooperation of Building Radar and ESA BIC Bavaria: “The ESA BIC Bavaria network has been a major part of boosting our company business right from the start of our collaboration in 2015. ESA BIC Bavaria thus helped Building Radar to become the global market leader in tracking building projects with the help of satellite picture technology. ESA BIC Bavaria serves as an essential basis for our development from a three-man startup into a globally operating high-tech company. I wholeheartedly declare that ESA BIC Bavaria is one of the key elements in our success. I highly recommend ESA BIC Bavaria to other technology startups.”

Do you want to get your business idea off the ground just like Building Radar and MAVinci?

Then check out the The ESA BIC Startup Challenge, jointly powered by the ESA Business Incubation Centres (BICs) Bavaria and Darmstadt. It is specifically tailored to SMEs, startups, research teams and students. The competition is scouting the best new business ideas and -models. The technology transfer ideas from Earth into space and vice versa could include:

  • Mobility applications/solutions
  • Innovative optimisation solutions
  • Increased efficiency and customer orientation solutions
  • Components or subsystems
  • Or any other ideas in the space sector.

The overall objective of the INNOspace Masters ESA BIC Challenge is to support startups with their successful entry into the space market at ESA BIC Darmstadt or ESA BIC Bavaria.

The incubation programme is designed to help establish a new company and acquire customers with a new space product or service within two years. Check out the benefits:

  • The winner will receive support in developing a viable business concept
  • The winner will receive support in preparing an application for one of the two German ESA BIC facilities with the opportunity of EUR 50,000 in funding.
  • The ESA BICs also offer access to a Europe-wide network of experts, which can assist the winner in both the technological and business-related aspects of the young company’s development.
  • The winner will receive a EUR 5,000 cash prize by Telespazio VEGA Germany. In case the winner is a startup and depending on the thematic orientation, the cash prize can also be transferred into a development contract of the respective product or service of the same value.

The European Space Agency’s two business incubators in Germany have already supported the foundation of over 200 companies in their effort to promote the transfer of space technologies to countless areas of commercial application. These include new materials, Earth observation, logistics, medical technology, mobility, navigation, and big data to name just a few.

You could be the next one with your business idea! Make it happen and register now for the ESA BIC Challenge of the INNOspace Masters. The Submission phase ends on 16 February. All winners will be awarded live on stage during the Awards Ceremony on 5 June 2018.

About the INNOspace Masters ideas competition
The INNOspace Masters competition is being organised by the Space Administration of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) as an embedded component of the INNOspace® initiative. AZO Anwendungszentrum GmbH Oberpfaffenhofen, an international networking and branding company for the European space programmes, has been implementing the competition since 2015 on behalf of DLR. Partners of the competition are Airbus, OHB and the ESA Business Incubation Centres (BICs) Bavaria and Darmstadt.

Durchstarten mit den ESA Business Incubation Centres Bavaria und Darmstadt

Durchstarten mit den ESA Business Incubation Centres Bavaria und Darmstadt

Neue Ideen, Technologien, Produkte und Dienstleistungen sind für die Menschheit extrem wichtig. Dabei spielt die Raumfahrt und mit ihren Entwicklungen schon immer eine große Rolle. Auch wenn es vielen Menschen nicht wirklich bewusst ist: Viele dieser Raumfahrt-Technologien, -Produkte und -Dienstleistungen bereichern und vereinfachen unser Leben auf der Erde immens. Dabei profitiert von diesem Technologietransfer die Raumfahrt genauso wie nicht-raumfahrtbezogene Industrien.

Folgende Erfolgsgeschichten zeigen, wie innovative Startups wichtige Änderungen innerhalb der Industrie bewirken konnten. Zudem machen sie deutlich, wie Startups mit den ESA (Europäische Weltraumagentur) Business Incubation Centres (BIC) Bavaria und Darmstadt durchgestartet sind:

UAS-Startup MAVinci von Intel übernommen

Das von 2015-2017  im ESA BIC Darmstadt geförderte Startup MAVinci entwickelte ein vollständig unbemanntes Luftfahrzeug (UAV). Dabei handelt es sich um ein vollkommen automatisierbares Leichtflugzeug mit integrierter Kamera und Software zur Planung, Verwaltung, Kontrolle und Verarbeitung. Die MAVinci GmbH mit Sitz in St. Leon-Rot in Baden-Württemberg, hat zwischenzeitlich 20 Mitarbeiter. Im November 2016 wurde der erfolgreiche Inkubator des ESA-Gründerzentrums Darmstadt von Intel übernommen. In der heutigen Version Intel Sirius™ Pro UAS wird das UAV zur Durchführung von Vermessungs- und Kartierungsprojekten verwendet.

Building Radar – Marktführer bei der Lokalisierung von Bauprojekten

Building Radar stellt eine globale, satellitengestützte Online-Datenbank für neue Bauprojekte bereit. Diese erkennt durch den eigens entwickelten Algorithmus weltweit neue Bauprojekte. Mittels Satellitenbildern werden Online-Suchergebnisse verifiziert und Veränderungen an Bauprojekten nachverfolgt. Building Radar bietet ein bequemes Tracking von vielen verschiedenen Bauvorhaben und operiert dank der technologiebasierten Datenrecherche sehr kosteneffizient. Das Startup war zwei Jahre im ESA BIC Bavaria Inkubator und wurde als Gesamtsieger des Wettbewerbs Copernicus Masters 2015 ausgezeichnet und gewann das Space App Camp Barcelona 2016. Beides sind Initiativen der AZO Anwendungszentrums GmbH Oberpfaffenhofen.

Die Weiterentwicklungen von Building Radar wurden durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem DLR erreicht. Paul Indinger, Geschäftsführer von Building Radar, beschreibt die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Building Radar und dem ESA BIC Bavaria wie folgt: „Seit dem Beginn unserer Zusammenarbeit im Jahr 2015 spielt das Netzwerk des ESA BIC Bavaria eine zentrale Rolle für den erfolgreichen Aufbau unseres Unternehmens. Das ESA BIC Bavaria verhalf Building Radar zu seiner Position als globaler Marktführer im Bereich der Lokalisierung von Bauprojekten mit Hilfe von Satellitenbildtechnologie. Das ESA BIC Bavaria bildet ein wichtiges Fundament für unsere Entwicklung von einem dreiköpfigen Startup hin zu einem international aktiven Hightech-Unternehmen. Ich kann also mit voller Überzeugung sagen, dass das ESA BIC Bavaria eines der Kernelemente für unseren Erfolg ist. Anderen Technologie-Startups kann ich das ESA BIC Bavaria wärmstens empfehlen.“

 

Sie können der nächste Gewinner sein oder Ihre Geschäftsidee genau wie Building Radar und MAVinci auf den Weg bringen?

Dann Senden Sie jetzt Ihre Idee für den INNOspace Masters – oder bis spätestens 16. Februar 2018. Verwirklichen Sie Ihr Projekt bei der ESA BIC Challenge des INNOspace Masters. Informieren Sie sich jetzt über die gemeinsam von den ESA Business Incubation Centres (BIC) Bavaria und Darmstadt unterstützte ESA BIC Startup-Challenge. Der Wettbewerb richtet sich speziell an KMU, Startups, Forschungsteams und Studenten.

Die Technologietransfer-Ideen von der Erde in den Weltraum und umgekehrt können folgende Bereiche betreffen:

  • Mobilitätsanwendungen/-lösungen
  • Innovative Optimierungslösungen
  • Gesteigerte Effizienz und kundenorientierte Lösungen
  • Komponenten oder Teilsysteme
  • Oder jegliche andere Ideen für den Raumfahrtsektor.

Das vorrangige Ziel der INNOspace Masters ESA BIC Challenge besteht in der Förderung von Startups für ihren erfolgreichen Eintritt in den Raumfahrtmarkt an den ESA BIC-Standorten Darmstadt oder Bavaria.

Das Inkubationsprogramm wurde entwickelt, um neuen Unternehmen zu helfen, sich innerhalb von zwei Jahren mit einem neuen Raumfahrtprodukt oder -service zu etablieren und Kunden zu gewinnen. Die Vorteile sind:

  • Der Gewinner erhält Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung eines zukunftsfähigen Geschäftskonzepts und bei der Ausarbeitung einer Anwendung für einen der beiden German ESA BIC-Standorte sowie die Gelegenheit einer Förderung in Höhe von 50.000 EUR.
  • Darüber hinaus bieten die ESA BIC Zugang zu einem europaweiten Expertennetzwerk, das den Gewinner in den technologie- und geschäftsrelevanten Aspekten der Entwicklung des jungen Unternehmens unterstützen kann.
  • Der Gewinner erhält eine Geldprämie von 5.000 EUR von Telespazio VEGA Germany. Falls der Gewinner ein Startup ist, kann die Geldprämie je nach thematischer Ausrichtung auch in Form eines Entwicklungsvertrags des jeweiligen Produkts oder Services im selben Wert vergeben werden.

Die beiden Gründerzentren der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation in Deutschland haben in ihrem Bestreben der Förderung des Transfers von Weltraumtechnologien in zahllosen kommerziellen Anwendungsbereichen bereits die Gründung von mehr als 200 Unternehmen unterstützt. Dazu gehören neue Materialien, Erdbeobachtung, Logistik, Medizintechnik, Mobilität, Navigation und Big Data, um nur einige zu nennen.

Über den Ideenwettbewerb INNOspace Masters
Der Wettbewerb INNOspace Masters wird vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) organisiert und ist ein eingebetteter Bestandteil der INNOspace® Initiative. Das AZO Anwendungszentrum GmbH Oberpfaffenhofen, ein internationales Networking- und Branding-Unternehmen für die europäischen Raumfahrtprogramme, führt den Wettbewerb seit 2015 im Auftrag des DLR durch. Partner des Wettbewerbs sind Airbus, OHB und die Business Incubation Centres (BICs) Bavaria und Darmstadt der ESA.